Manually add printer in Windows 10 (build 9926)

I have a Samsung network attached printer that Windows cannot automatically discover.

image

Usually not a problem, since I can manually add it using TCP.

But in Windows 10 (build 9926) I never got the option to add it manually.

In Control Panel I have these options regarding Printers:

clip_image001

If I chose Add a device the Wizard starts searching (unsuccessfully) for my printer and then ends with this screen:

clip_image002

Note the link at the bottom that only directs me to this local help article:

clip_image003

There is no way for me to manually add the printer in this situation.

But it turns out that if (instead of Add a device) I click the Advanced printer setup, what appears to be the same wizard starts but this time the link at the bottom is different:

clip_image004

If I click that link I get the wizard I was looking for where I can add my printer manually:

clip_image005

I hope this helps someone in the same situation.

This entry was posted in Okategoriserade. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Manually add printer in Windows 10 (build 9926)

  1. Jonathan Woodbridge says:

    Thanks for this tip: worked for me!

Leave a Reply

